EU launches 13 new defence cooperation projects

The projects were agreed under the so-called Permanent Structured Cooperation (PESCO) on security and defence.

EU defence ministers green-lighted this week the third wave of 13 new proposals under the EU’s Permanent Structured Cooperation – PESCO framework, raising the number of joint military projects to 47.

Five of the new wave of projects focus on training, covering areas such as cyber, diving, tactical, medical as well as chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear defence training, while the other projects focus on enhancing joint EU actions as well as on capability development on sea, air and space.

‘’When Europeans join forces, our impact is higher than we imagine’’ EU High Representative Federica Mogherini said at the press conference following the newly agreed projects.

In a rapidly changing world, the EU and its Member States continue stepping up their work for Europe's collective security and the security of European citizens, working closely with partners. Much work has been achieved at the EU level over the past few years and the EU toolbox for security and defence has been strengthened with a number of new initiatives.

PESCO is one of them, as it enables EU Member States to work more closely together in the area of security and defence. Within PESCO, they can develop jointly defence capabilities, invest in shared projects, and enhance the operational readiness and contribution of their armed forces.

First established in December 2017, PESCO counts 25 participating Member States and a current total number of 47 projects on such areas as training facilities, land formation systems, maritime, air systems, cyber, and enabling joint multiple services. Work will now continue, with a particular focus on implementation over the next two years.

The 25 member states participating in PESCO are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain and Sweden.

Similar articles

  • EU calls for maximum restraint in Iraq

    EU calls for maximum restraint in Iraq

    During their extraordinary meeting on 10 January 2020, in Brussels, convened by Josep Borrell, High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, EU Ministers of Foreign Affairs discussed a lot of pressing topics starting with recent developments in Libya, including the military escalation around Tripoli. 

  • Croatia is committed to unblock EU enlargement process

    Croatia is committed to unblock EU enlargement process

    Croatia is committed to unblock the negotiations on the enlargement of the EU to the Balkans, and is betting on a change of France's stance (the country vetoed the launch of the talks on membership with North Macedonia and Albania), ANSA reported. The Balkan EU Member State also is committed to ensure that the Zagreb summit, scheduled for 7 May, where Union leaders will sit with those of the Western Balkans, will be a success.